To Power Plate or NOT to Power Plate, that is the question

April 19, 2013 at 1:55 pm Leave a comment

Several of my clients have asked me my thoughts on “POWER PLATES.” Well, I don’t think about power plates, because I have no interest in using them. Seems fun for a time or 2 but ultimately gimmicky in my opinion.

After doing a little research, here’s what I came up with: Regarding long term health, the major concern is that high-amplitude vibration can be dangerous over time since it sends jarring waves throughout the body. This jarring motion could create low back pain, cartilage damage, blurred vision from retinal tears, hearing loss and even brain damage (gray matter being shaken too hard in the skull). It is not recommended to use the machines for over 30 minutes a day.

Conclusion: Try it if you want to try it.  But don’t make it a regular routine. Don’t spend way too much money for this overpriced machine or to train on it. If you need to work on stability, incorporate a bosu ball and balance ball into your routine. Also consider incorporating Pilates or Yoga for balance and core strength.  With most of my clients, I prefer to train one side at a time (e.g. 1 legged squats, alternating bicep curls, etc) to create overall balance and stability. At the end of the day, a machine like this is not going to change your life, hard work, consistency, and a healthy diet will!

Entry filed under: BODY.

Swimsuit Posing Tips: How to look good in any bathingsuit picture Weight-Loss Tip: Make One Change a Week (and I’ll tell you where to start)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address below & click "sign me up!" to subscribe to this blog * * you can opt for daily OR weekly notifications

Personal Trainer

Follow me on Twitter

Recent Posts


